DIY Dry Shampoo Recipe For All Hair Colors

This dry shampoo is better-than-store-bought.  Seriously!  I’ve always loved the IDEA of dry shampoo but most versions have always left my hair either completely stringy and limp (and worse than greasy!) or non-greasy but with a gross white residue (um, no thanks!).

After becoming disillusioned with all the store bought dry shampoo versions, I started experimenting with diy versions.  The cornstarch based versions I came across definitely helped with the grease but still made my hair very flat and unappealing to both sight and touch.

20140409-1714571

 

Over the last few month, I’ve came across several other ingredients that seemed like they would work perfectly.  I was cooking with arrowroot one day and after managing to get it all over my clothes, floors, and counters, I thought, “Hey! This is so light and powdery…perfect for a dry shampoo!”  Another power ingredient I got familiar with was bentonite clay.  I end up using it in so many recipes because of it’s amazing absorbing properties.  A couple more additions and I was on a roll!

I’ve organized the recipe into ingredients for the base of the powder and then the color options you’ll pick from to make it powder perfect for your hair color.  I tried to mix several different versions to make sure you could make one for blonde, redhead, and brunette hair colors but since it is so individualized, I’ll just outline what ingredients to buy to get the shades you would want.

Base Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon arrowroot powder
  • 1/3 tablespoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon bentonite clay
  • 1/3 tablespoon titanium dioxides (optional but highly recommended for more opaque coverage and helps with getting the correct color)

Color ingredients:

  • cocoa powder (dirty blonde or brunette)
  • brown oxide (brunette..I mixed cocoa powder and brown oxide for my brown hair)
  • black clay (black…mix a tiny bit along with cocoa powder for very dark brunettes)
  • Yellow oxide (for bright blondes…go very slow with adding it to base recipe or you’ll end up with something way too yellow)
  • Yellow plus red oxide (for redheads…may need cocoa powder for darker shades…again, go very slow since oxides are very pigmented)

Scent:

  • I suggest putting in several drops of lavender essential oil for scent into the final product and mixing like crazy to incorporate it.

Steps:

1.  Mix the base ingredients together.  If you have very light hair, this may be all you need!

2.  Look through the color ingredients and decide which ones make sense to start with.  I suggest starting with the ingredient of your predominant hair color and then slowly work in other color ingredients to get the shade perfect for you.  If you overshot the color in any way, you can always add in more of the white base ingredients (I suggest arrowroot powder to start with) to ease up on the color.  If you’re ever in doubt, try a dab on your hair to see how well it blends.

How to use:

I use an old (but cleaned!) fluffy makeup brush to apply the powder evenly over greasy roots.  I suggest cleaning your brush every couple uses since by definition you’re touching it to unclean hair.  Not only is it unsanitary but you’re likely to end up with some unsightly breakouts at the hairline.

 

2 replies

Leave a comment